No meat to start my week

Once the a new season starts, I like to look at it as a fresh start and make new season resolutions for myself. For a number of reasons, I’ve decided to implement “Meatless Mondays” into my cuisine lifestyle. And, because I’m writing a post about it, I’ll be more likely to take it seriously.

Meatless Mondays are a great way to save money, save calories and explore new culinary options. I know I’m among many who buy the exact same sandwich everytime they go to say, Jimmy Johns, but by branching out and actually TRYING the vegetarian options, you’ll find that they’re not all that bad. I’ve learned you don’t have to be a sprout-loving animal rights hippy to enjoy meatless foods.

In honor of my meat-free Monday declaration, here’s a link to 14 easy vegetarian recipes from the Hopeless Cook including the ALT (avocado, lettuce and tomato) sandwich, tomato soup and my personal favorite caprese salad.

I’m not promising anything drastic, but I am proud of myself for making this commitment. Does anyone participate in Meatless Mondays? Anyone have any favorite veggie recipes to share? Any encouragement? I’m gonna need it!

*Photo credit: http://www.Tonic.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “No meat to start my week”


  1. […] have to admit, it has been difficult to keep this Meatless Mondays promise that I made to myself. It has, however, made me much more observant of what I put in my body, which […]


Leave a Reply

